Another GREAT week in Argentina!!! November 24, 2014

Craziness the week has flown by!

This week was quite a week to be sure. Here in Mar de Ajo, work, the season and the weather is taking a toll on the members and investigators. But we are diligently working to strengthen the branch and the people here the best we can!

This week we had a mix of both rain and storm and then extrememly hot weather! It was so hot one day we went to the church to fill up our water bottles and we were drenched I came out of the bathroom and found my companion on the classroom floor sprawled out with all the fans going at full speed. I joined her and we enjoyed it for 5 minutes before heading back out! Man the heat can get to ya but we were able to do it! ๐Ÿ™‚

martes-
Today was a fun day! For our district meeting our district leader decided to have the meeting completely in english. He is from Colombia! each companionship in our district has one north american and the other is from a spanish speaking country! It was fun helping my companion prepare. It was really funny during the meeting because at times those whos native language is english we slipped into castellano lots of times! haha How funny no? It was a great activity and gave our companions the opportunity to put themselves in our shoes with how hard it is to not only learn a language but while trying to learn it speak and teach it! it was fun and we had lots of laughs! All of them did really good with their english! We talked about what Elder Nelson told us we must do. “We must learn english, spanish, and the language of the lord(scriptures).” So that is what we are going to work on as a district! ๐Ÿ™‚
We then went home and ate our yummy CORN FLAKES! yum! ๐Ÿ™‚
Today we were able to do 14 ALBยดs ALB stands for Abrir ls boca (opening the mouth) it is when we talk with people on the streets or who open their door to us. ๐Ÿ™‚

miercoles-
Today it rained but that didn’t stop us! ๐Ÿ™‚ it was fun!
We were able to have three lessons today despite the weather which is really good! ๐Ÿ™‚

Jueves(nov 20)-
Many of our citas fell through but we were again able to do lots of ALBยดs!
Also SHOUT OUT TO ELDER OSTLER- FELIZ 3 MESES EN LA MISION! LOVE YOU BRO! EXITO!!!!!

Sabado-
Today the elders had another baptism! for a family-the parents are members but they were less active and their children were not members. But today three of their kids were baptized. Each elder baptized a son and the father was able to baptize his daughter. It reminded me of my baptism with you dad! I am so grateful for my baptism in this church and that you were able to perform the ordinance for me! It was such a special day and moment in my life and having you there to support me and help make this covenant with the Lord made it even more special! I am so grateful for you and mom! thank you for being strong examples to me and supporting me! I love you dearly!
While they were changing, my companion and i taught about the family proclamation to the members and visiting people. It was a great and lovely baptism.
The elders knew that we didn’t have lunch with members this week and that we had been eating corn flakes, so they bought us rice and vegtables. They are the sweetest and always thinking of others. So that is what I cooked for us to eat that day! ๐Ÿ™‚
We then were able to teach a young girl we met while doing ALBS she is 18 and is super sweet! We taught her and she accepted to be baptized! (We are going to visit her again today (monday)! i am excited!!!!!)

Domingo-
Today was a special day for me! So in our branch, as missionaries we have to be prepared to give talks each Sunday in case someone doesnt show up. I had been preparing a talk about how to open our hearts to the Holy Ghost. Turns out my companion and i were asked to give a talk. We had no idea until our president at the pulpit said we will now hear from Hermana Ostler… My heart started to race I was so scared! The leaders of our area were there and I expressed that this was my first talk in Argentina! Thankfully I had written out my talk! Surprisingly it went really well! A lot better than I expected! Many people came up to me afterwards and thanked me for my talk! The president came over to me and in english he said to me- “You are 19, You are Special! He then asked for your information (mom and dad) I think he wants to communicate with you guys! He and his family are the best! They are the ones who invite us over for ASADO! yum! Anyways the leaders from Pinamar came up to me and one said to me “wow if that was your first talk ever your second one will be a piece of cake and blow everyone away!” This made me feel really good because to be honest sometimes it feels like I am not progressing in the language. The languge is the hardest thing for me here on the mission and sometimes gets me down! But at the same time I love learning it and it has been such a blessing! However, this night my companion sat down with me and said we needed to talk. This made me nervous, I thought maybe I had done something wrong. She said to me that my talk was so good! She said it is probably the best talk she has ever heard since going to church in her life. She said I have made a huge progress in my castellano and as a missionary. She said she wishes I could see how much I have grown the way she can. We then did practices of situations. She decided to make it personal. She said that she would be herself and that I was going to teach her and I had to ask inspired questions to understand what she needs. The practice was so incredible. The spirit was so strong. I had the opportunity in this practice to help my companion with the questions of her soul through inspired questions and the BOM. I can’t take any credit for this. I know that the Lord is guiding me and directing me. He is helping me with the language and putting the words in my mouth. Through his spirit I was able to give that talk and through his spirit I am able to teach everyday in castellano to people here in Mar de Ajo! as it says in the BOM I glory in my God, through Him all is possible.

I am also so grateful for my companion! I know that she was specifically chosen to be my companion for a reason! She has taught me so much and I know I wouldn’t be where I am without her! She has been patient and understanding! She has been there for me through the hard times and the good! She has been there for me when i needed someone to talk to! We have been able to laugh together and sometimes cry together! I can truly say that She is my sister for life! I am so sad that she will be being transferred most likely the following week! NOOOO!

I can tell you and promise you that god answers our prayers and is aware of us. This week was a hard week for my companion and I. We didn’t have many people to teach. But the Lord has heard our prayers and it answering them in His time! This I know! Even though it was hard we were able to do over 50 ALBs! The Lord has a plan for us we must be patient and seek his guidance always!

Sorry I didn’t write a lot this week! Know I love you all and miss you all dearly! I love receiving your emails! Keep em comin! ๐Ÿ™‚ also mom please send me lots of stamps so I can send letters!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love you all! Have a great thanksgiving! Remember to always be thankful in any circumstance and for your circumstance! Enjoy your turkey and eat lots of food for me!

Con amor,
Hermana Ostler

Leave a Reply

